Rolfing 10 Series   


The 10 sessions of Rolfing  

Traditionally the Rolfing 10 series consists of 10 sessions each lasting about 60-75 minutes, spaced one week apart. The work is cumulative, with each session building on the last; each session is aimed at moving closer to a natural, graceful, easy and erect alignment of the body.

During a Rolfing session, your Rolfer will assess your standing posture and your walking are analyzed for imbalances. A slow, deep kneading massage follows to ease off tensions in your body. A session ends with movement and postural education, so that your body would have better integration with the new sensation you gain from the session - and best of all, sense of deep relaxation and wellbeing! A short introduction through the 10 sessions…

Session One

Like any beginning this session starts with a detailed client history and discussion on what you wish to achieve from your experience. The 'hands on' portion of the session begins the process of releasing restriction and tension from the larger regions of the body. The neck and shoulders; the pelvis and legs; and the rib cage, are addressed through the various techniques available to your practitioner. These will include soft tissue manipulation techniques and movement education.

Session Two

The feet and legs are now the focus of our attention. To sustain any structure, strong and
stable support from below is necessary. Time is spent now not only releasing the muscular restrictions of the lower limbs, but also drawing awareness to new found options on standing and walking.

Session Three

This ends the first stage of integration. It introduces what we call the "lateral line" where the ear, shoulder, hip, knee, and ankle all line up when standing (just like the "little boy" logo). This session incorporates elements of sessions one and two, bringing balance to the whole body.

Session Four

The emphasis now changes from the outer, broader structures to the deeper, "core" structures of the body. We use the term core to describe the area from the pelvis all the way up to and including your head. In session four we begin to create order from the ankle all the way up to the pelvis. The emphasis here is the body's ability to provide lift through the central part of the body.

Session Five

Here we take the work of session four and build upon it. After the initial work to lengthen the 'core' in the last session, we now begin to move upwards within the body, freeing holding patterns within the pelvis, rib cage and abdominal muscles. By creating space and order within these regions we allow for the inner structures (organs and deep abdominal muscles) of the body to reassert themselves.

Session Six

" Free the hips and legs". This is a central theme in Rolfing, and here it is brought to the fore. Sessions four and five are important in creating lift and balance to the front of the body. Session Six allows the back of the body to balance this.

Session Seven

This is the time where order is brought to the head, neck and shoulders. After much work in previous sessions to free the legs, pelvis and back, emphasis is turned to the "top"; releasing restrictions and tension. It should also be mentioned that although the emphasis in this session is the head, neck, and shoulders, earlier sessions will also address any restrictions that may be found here.

Session Eight, Nine and Ten

Balance and Integration. It is one thing to have options; it is another to know what to do with them. This is the stage where all the lessons learnt in the first seven sessions are brought together, to integrate and incorporate into your life the newfound freedom and options in posture and movement. A series of three to five sessions could follow after a pause of about 6 months. There is always a possibility to take refreshing sessions.


rolfing 10 series



rolfing 10 series